The history of Angelats

The history of Angelats

Domingo Batlló travelled all over Catalonia looking for the best place to improve his state of health. The waters of the Torrent d’Angelats and the rivers in the area were certified as having curative properties, so Domingo decided to build his residence just a few metres from the river.

In 1926, after the death of Domingo Batlló, his son Jesús Batlló completed the construction of the house, inspired by the Victorian architecture of England.

The architecture of the house 

The legacy of the Batlló family’s humanistic and architectural knowledge is present in all that surrounds the hotel. Full of symbolism and noble materials of the highest quality, they constitute a residence with a unique identity in Spain.

The curvature of the ceilings in the rooms and the arch as the predominant form in doors and windows stand out. Double joinery and steam heating were used to combat the cold from the beginning.

Spanish and Anglo-Saxon influence 

The decoration, the construction and the location make Angelats a unique house, portraying the customs of other times and transmitting the destiny of those who lived within its walls.

Self-sufficiency and sustainability

It was during the period after the Spanish Civil War that the second renovation began. A system of sustainable energy self-sufficiency was established, and the church and escape tunnels were built, which to this day have not been found.

Its location captures the sun’s rays to supply all the rooms with solar energy during the day and at night the wood-burning fireplaces were used as a heating system. Electricity was obtained hydraulically thanks to the Torrent d’Angelats and water for human and animal consumption was extracted from the mountain’s internal springs.

They also had their own livestock farm and a fish farm that supplied the family with food.